Don’t buy stuff from the Microsoft Store… ever

I consider myself a pretty reasonable guy.  I try to be polite to everyone and slow to get angry, and it is definitely out of character for me to write about a bad experience.  But the jokers at Microsoft’s online store made me do it…

I just wanted to give you some advice that will save you heartache later on: don’t buy stuff from the Microsoft Store… ever.

Back on May 23, I ordered a Microsoft Surface Pro from the online store for my son, who wanted it for college classes this summer.  The website didn’t give any indication it was out of stock, back-ordered, etc., so I thought this would be the easiest way for me.  Fine, I ordered it and paid for next day shipping.  Now understand, there is Microsoft kiosk at a mall just 15 miles from my house, so I did this thinking it would save me time and a trip.  Boy, was I so wrong on both counts.

Fast forward to May 28th.  My son is starting class on the following day and still no Surface.  So, I called store support and talked to Gail who told me that the order was still pending.  Her explanation was that there was a problem with my credit card?!?  Now, I pay off my credit cards every month… this is obviously not the problem. Whatever. I asked her to just cancel my order and I would go to the kiosk to buy one.  After a few minutes of convincing her that I really wanted to do this, she says the order was canceled.  I then went down to the kiosk that night with my wife and picked up a Surface (with the same credit card I used for the online order, no less).

Problem solved… or so I thought.

I get an email today… TODAY, June 12th telling me:

Thank you for ordering from Microsoft. At your request, we attempted to cancel the following products from your order. Unfortunately, we were unable to stop shipment and you will be charged for these items.

Really? TWO WEEKS after I canceled my order, you can’t stop a shipment from happening?  So now I have to spend even more time, being a jerk to people that are just trying to do their job.

Wonder why people give Microsoft a bad rap?  I’d say they earn it all by themselves.

T

P.S.  Sorry to make you endure this rant on a technical blog.  I just needed somewhere to vent.  I’m off to dispute the charge.  Thanks for reading.

10 Comments

  1. Posted June 12, 2013 at 6:35 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I’m breaking out the popcorn; can’t wait to find out how this ends. Keep us updated!

  2. Posted July 1, 2013 at 4:53 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I am having a similar issue. My Credit card has been charged, and no product. After 5 days of fighting with several folks from some call center god knows where I have gotten no where.

  3. Chris
    Posted August 13, 2013 at 7:07 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Same thins has happened to me. The order was cancelled mycredit card has been charged. Have spent over 3 hrs on the phone with MS bozos. According to my C Card, I can Dispute the charge after 15 days. Guess that will be the easiest way.

    My Advise NEVER EVER BUY from Microsoft online store.

  4. Jack Sparrow
    Posted November 28, 2013 at 5:54 am | Permalink | Reply

    I am so very frustrated right now! I am experiencing a similar situation. The only problem is that I want the new Surface Pro 2 and the only place that occasionally has them in stock is the MSstore.

    I paid for 2nd day delivery and now am being told it will be delivered next Wednesday – a week after the order.

    One thing I have learned with consistency is that if you do not like the first answer you receive from the representative, just call back the next one will make up an entirely different story.
    Thanks for reading.

  5. James Zhou
    Posted January 3, 2014 at 3:22 am | Permalink | Reply

    i had a similar experience. Microsoft store is VERY inefficient!!! I ordered a Surface Pro from Microsoft online store on Dec 14th, and called later in the same day to cancel the order because I changed mind… the customer service told me that they will cancel the order on that day. However, 3 days later, I received an email saying that the order cannot be cancelled and I will received it via UPS. I returned the UPS package as soon as I receive it. UPS delivered it back to their return center on the 2nd day, but there is NO email from Microsoft customer service to confirm that the package was received. Until I called them 8 days after USP delivery, they said the refund will take 15 business days to appear. So frustrating!!!

    If you have alternative choice, do not order it from Microsoft Online store.

  6. Michelle
    Posted June 12, 2014 at 9:25 am | Permalink | Reply

    I have been trying to activate my trial version of Office for 2 weeks via the online site and I can’t get it to take my money!!! I get a error message before paying and after 1.5 hours on the phone (getting the same script from each person) I gave up. I have never had so much trouble trying to GIVE someone money!!

  7. Marcio
    Posted July 17, 2014 at 4:32 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I hadn’t read these comments…actually I was trying to find MS store on line to request information and cancel an order I just placed, because of a number of problems: I’m American, but I logged on from Dominican Repubic, where I happen to be. The order as just a Portuguese language pack,
    for my just bought very powerful Lenovo Y40 (also very expensive and because of MS I’m already beginning to wonder if I should have gone Mac Book Pro). Right before I could finish the trasaction, the MS site became unresponsive and disappeared; I got a “timed out” message, no confirmation, no cancellation, they just vanished. Suspecting that this situation was fishy, I logged on tomy account and found out that they had the trasaction finished, I had been billed for the wrong language package and they added another package to the invoice. Couldn’t find a way to address the issue, the sites would give me a run around and from the DR the 800 numbers do not work.Then I went on the web to see how I could contact them and found I’m not alone. Please welcome me to the club. After Windows Vista when MS clearly sold an unfinished product, got royally paid for it and had miliions of consumers working for free in the debugging of the sofware, the thought that they had become so powerful that they did not have to worry about the little buggers – us. As it is now, most probably that’s the case and, know what? They may be right – unless and until we do something about it. I’ll take care of my share. You all have a good day. !!!!

  8. AJ
    Posted September 13, 2014 at 1:13 am | Permalink | Reply

    I just went through similar hell in the US for an xbox 360 power unit, they don’t sell these parts in their physical stores. I went to the online MS store, MS shipped device via fedfex, item shows it has not been shipped after 14 days according to FEDEX web site. MS is unable to tell me what happened, after a 1 hour IM conversation, they told me to call FEDEX as they say “we shipped it and its got nothing to do with us”!.

    I called FEDEX, and spent 20 minutes before I got a person, turns out they passed the shipping to another partner and then tried to give me a new tracking number and the partners number over an awful line, FEDEX say they cannot track it. So, its lost, 14 days after it was shipped, MS now expects me to put the time in and find it.

    I will dispute this with the CC provider, wasted too much time. Stay away from using the MS online store, no wonder so many people have deserted MS for Sony, its a joke. Next purchase, I will be a PS4,, I already ditched windows 2 years ago.

  9. Posted November 24, 2014 at 5:33 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I preoredered a game 19days ahead of time. no indication it was sold out. it was my first time buying on microsoftstore.com because there is a promo but i usually buy at ebgames or xbox store. so i talked to several live support before, while, and after ordering. then later that night i went to check my order status. its backordered, i talked to live support and was promised it will be fixed. fast forward to released day of the game Nov 18th in the morning, called in sick from work and school yet still no email for tracking, went to check at live support they kept spouting it will come it will come, waited waited, 6pm and talked to live support again and called support, they said it will come just wait till the end of the day, what? did they mean 11:59pm? really will it come? the person said yes. waited till 11:59pm like a loser and it didnt come. called again only to find out theres something wrong with my order saying there was a glitch? really? after 10people lied to me already? only then theyll say that there is wrong with my order. and guess what.. the release day wasnt even 18th but nov 17th.. LIKE WTF…. I waited the whole day, wasting time, sacrificing work and school for nothing???? then call support everyday. until escalations emailed me. promising me sunday.. meaning i will not only miss the release day tuesday, but also wed, thurs, fri and most importantly the WEEKENDS my only chance to catch up to my friends. Sunday came and no email. and guess what. its monday now.. and still no sht from them. they dont understand the frustrations of a gamer who waited for the game since it was just a rumour, then waited more and eagerly when it was announced.. and waited impatiently for the release day.. not to mention the frustrations of being lied on by 15people+ god how can i ever trust humanity now..if i had recieve a warning from them i couldve fixed it. but they didnt even bother for a warning.. but now its too late sigh.

  10. Posted December 6, 2014 at 6:14 am | Permalink | Reply

    Oh my. I was pissed as well on December 1st when I ordered the Surface pro 3 for graduate school (graduation/ Christmas gift to myself) and noticed HOURS later that the product is on back order. Why don’t they disclose this to us??? Staples had the same surface for the same price and I could have gotten it same day, but nooooooo. Let me buy from Microsoft, afterall, it is their product. I am super pissed. Now I don’t want to cancel the order and pay the $200 difference because I did get it on cyber Monday. UGH!!! Your post was very helpful, I just wish I found it sooner.

Leave a Reply

